Statement from the Financial Services Council on new APRA appointments


The Financial Services Council (FSC) congratulates the appointments of Mrs Helen Rowell as the full-time Deputy Chair of APRA and Mr Geoff Summerhayes as a full-time member of APRA from 1 January 2016 announced last week by Treasurer, Scott Morrison.

Sally Loane, CEO of the FSC said: “As APRA Member for Superannuation Helen Rowell has served with distinction.

“The FSC has appreciated the consultative approach Ms Rowell has taken in her dealings with the industry and for her efforts in implementing significant reforms in superannuation arising from the Cooper Review. We wish her well in her new role as Deputy Chair of the country’s prudential regulator.”

Mr Summerhayes was a director of the Financial Services Council from 2010 until September 2015 and co-chair of the FSC’s Life Board committee from 2011 to 2015.

Ms Loane said: “Geoff made a significant contribution to the life insurance industry through his role as CEO of Suncorp Life and as a director of the Financial Services Council board, and as co-chair of our life board committee.”

“His leadership during the life insurance reform process over the past 12 months was outstanding and his long experience in the private sector in financial services will be valuable as he takes up his APRA position.”

You must be logged in to post or view comments.