AFA and ANZ Wealth announce Rising Star finalists


The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) and ANZ Wealth have announced the six finalists in the 2016 AFA Rising Star of the Year Award (the Award).

Launched in 2005, the Award is a highly desirable accolade for new advisers providing quality advice, who demonstrate a commitment to education and who are making a valuable contribution to their industry and to their community.

This year’s entrants demonstrated strong capabilities in all areas, highlighting the depth of the talent pool the advice industry is attracting.

AFA CEO Brad Fox says the Australian advice industry has been successful in making financial advice an attractive profession to new entrants, and in highlighting the real demand and need for good financial advice required by all Australians.

“This year’s entrants are particularly strong,” he says. “We are seeing the work the industry has done over the past five or so years to promote our profession now coming through in terms of professional qualifications, experience and most importantly, a desire to provide clear, transparent and trusted advice.”

ANZ Wealth Head of Sales, Don Sillar says, “The professionalism, education and passion of the candidates this year confirmed these Rising Stars are focused on delivering great advice to their clients.”

The 2016 AFA Rising Star of the Year Award finalists are:

  • Peter Hodgson – ANZ Financial Planning
  • Cathryn Gross – The Wealth Network
  • Brent Story – AMP Financial Planning
  • Maritza Kriel – Synchron
  • Gregory Adam Bloom – Yellow Brick Road
  • Erin Truscott – Financial Wisdom

This year’s judging panel included:

  • Brad Fox – CEO of AFA
  • Jenny Brown – Founder and CEO of JBS Financial Strategists
  • Don Sillar – Head of Sales, ANZ Wealth
  • Laura Halbert – Head of Marketing, ANZ Wealth
  • Chris Browne – Founder Rising Tide and 2007 Rising Star Winner
  • Dave Slovinec – State Director SA/NT – AFA
  • Matthew Hawkins – State Director TAS – AFA, Director Scanlon Richardson Financial Group

The Award winner will be announced at the AFA National Conference at the National Convention Centre in Canberra on 7 October 2016.

You must be logged in to post or view comments.