AFA announces new Executive, Board members


The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) has announced a new AFA Board Executive, including Michael Nowak as AFA President; Sam Perera, Vice President, and Matthew Hawkins, Treasurer at its virtual Annual General Meeting (AGM) this week.

Mr Nowak has been a member of the AFA Board for eight years and is the immediate past Vice President, serving two consecutive terms. He was also the 2013/14 President during the Future of Financial Advice (FOFA) reform period.

“I am honoured to again serve as the AFA’s national president,” Mr Nowak said. “The AFA has set a firm forward strategy, with a strong policy and advocacy focus and a business plan that is well positioned to meet the current challenging COVID-19 economic conditions.

“I acknowledge that there are significant challenges ahead for financial advisers, but it is encouraging to see a change in the tone regarding reform. It is crucial that reform is delivered to ensure that financial advisers can continue to serve the financial advice needs of Australians.”

The AFA also announced Katherine Hayes has been appointed to the Board as the new State Director for NSW/ACT and Stephen Knight has been appointed to the Board as WA State Director.

Six of the nine Board members will remain, including the three Executive members and also Sam Robinson in Victoria, Patricia Garcia in Queensland and Jawad Ahmad in South Australia.  This provides continuity and stability for the AFA.

Members of the AFA Board hold office for two years and must be practising financial advisers.

AFA CEO, Philip Kewin said, “We welcome the new AFA Board Executive team and the new State Directors and are looking forward to working with them to further our vision for financial advice.

“We would also like to thank our outgoing President, Marc Bineham, for his outstanding contribution to the AFA. Marc is a passionate advocate for financial advice, and has served on the Board for 10 years, including two consecutive terms as President. We would also like to acknowledge the contribution from outgoing WA State Director James Ford, who steps down after six years on the Board.”

Members of the current AFA Board include:


  • President – Michael Nowak
  • Vice President – Sam Perera
  • Treasurer – Matthew Hawkins
  • Company Secretary – Philip Kewin

State Directors

  • NSW/ACT – Katherine Hayes
  • VIC – Samantha Robinson
  • QLD – Patricia Garcia
  • SA/NT – Jawad Ahmad
  • WA – Stephen Knight
  • TAS – Vacant

You must be logged in to post or view comments.