University of Canberra students win the AMP University Challenge


(L to R): Sarah Pearson and Jordan Finch

University of Canberra students Sarah Pearson and Jordan Finch have won the finals of the 2020 AMP University Challenge and the $5,000 first prize.

The pair, who are both majoring in financial planning, came out on top in a closely fought competition on Friday.

It is the first time students from University of Canberra have won the competition in its 10 year history.

The AMP University Challenge is a national financial planning competition for tertiary students that aims to identify promising new talent and promote high standards of education and professionalism among the next generation of advisers.

The finals placings, judged by a panel of industry and academic experts, were:

  • 1st place: Sarah Pearson, Jordan Finch (University of Canberra)
  • 2nd place: Paige Benson (Central Queensland University)
  • 3rd place: David Lautner (TAFE NSW)
  • 4th place: Sarah Sheehan, Lachlan Cruickshank, Mathew Marshall (Griffith University)
  • 5th place: Anuj Umesh, Ryan Ramos – Array Financials (Western Sydney University)

AMP Head of Talent & Capability Rod Edge said all the students should be proud of their achievement, having performed better than over 170 competitors from across the country to get to the finals.

“It has been a great achievement by the students just to make it this far,” Mr Edge said.

The finalists fought a day long battle for supremacy, which included a technical quiz, a mock advice interview with two clients and preparing a speech on how to make financial advice more affordable.

The finals were also a chance for the students to speak with senior advice professionals and financial planning academics and get advice on their studies and career opportunities.

The event is usually held at AMP’s Sydney headquarters, but was “virtual” this year due to COVID-19.

The AMP University Challenge is integrated into the curriculum and assessment for students studying financial planning majors at Central Queensland University, Deakin University, Griffith University, TAFE NSW, University of Wollongong, Charles Sturt University and Western Sydney University.

You must be logged in to post or view comments.