Financial Services Council appoints Geoff Lloyd as Chairman


The Financial Services Council (FSC) has announced that Geoff Lloyd, CEO and Managing Director of Perpetual Limited, has been unanimously elected by the Board as Chairman of the FSC. He will commence in the role on Thursday 21 July.

Mr Lloyd will replace Greg Cooper, CEO of Schroder Investment Management Australia, who will step down as Chairman tomorrow.

“I have enjoyed my tenure as Chairman of the FSC. It’s a privileged position and I’m proud of what we have achieved,” Mr Cooper said.

“I leave the FSC Board in good hands as Geoff has made a significant contribution over many years.

Mr Lloyd has held a number of positions within the FSC having also been Co-Deputy Chairman, Deputy Chairman of the FSC’s Administration & Risk Board Committee, Deputy Chairman of the FSC’s Nominations Board Committee and Co-Chairman of the FSC’s Advice Board Committee.

“With more than 25 years’ experience in financial services and a passion for improving Australia’s financial future, Geoff is the ideal person to help steer the FSC through its critical next phase,” Mr Cooper added.

Mr Lloyd thanked Mr Cooper for his significant contribution to the FSC and to Australia’s financial services industry.

“Greg’s leadership has been integral in helping the industry navigate substantial regulatory headwinds and opportunities. He has encouraged a collaborative approach to tackling issues and can be very proud of where the FSC is today,” Mr Lloyd said.

“Importantly, Greg has worked tirelessly to advance the position of the financial services industry and to create a more prosperous future for all Australians.

“I look forward to carrying forward this charge.”

Annabel Spring, Group Executive of CBA Wealth Management, has been appointed Co-Deputy Chair, filling the role left vacant by Mr Lloyd’s appointment. Ms Spring has been a Director at the FSC for four years and also Co-Chairs the FSC’s Superannuation Board Committee.

“Annabel has been a valued contributor to the FSC for a number of years and is well respected across the industry, particularly for her determined efforts to promote policy to close the superannuation gender gap,” FSC CEO Sally Loane said.
“We look forward to her contribution as Co-Deputy Chairman.”

Alexis George, Managing Director of ANZ Wealth Australia Limited has been elected to the Board of the Financial Services Council, replacing Robin Burns, former Managing Director of Equity Trustees Limited who retired in May 2016.

“The FSC is grateful for Robin’s long and productive period on the Board, including his role in merging the FSC and the Trustee Companies Association of Australia,” Ms Loane said.

“We welcome the breadth of experience Alexis will bring to the Board.

“During her 20 year career in financial services, Alexis has held senior roles spanning superannuation, funds management and insurance across Australia, Europe and Asia. She is passionate about helping Australians grow and protect their wealth, believes in the importance of giving consumers access to quality financial advice, and is a strong advocate for improving the customer experience.”

The FSC Board now comprises:

  • Chairman: Geoff Lloyd – CEO & MD, Perpetual Limited
  • Co-Deputy Chairman: Brad Cooper – CEO, BT Financial Group
  • Co-Deputy Chairman: Annabel Spring – Group Executive, Wealth Management, Commonwealth Bank of Australia.


  • Brian Benari – MD and CEO of Challenger Limited
  • Pauline Blight-Johnston − Group Executive of Insurance and Superannuation, AMP
  • David Bryant − CEO & CIO of Australian Unity Investments
  • Alexis George – MD, ANZ Wealth Australia Limited
  • Brett Clark ̶ Group CEO and Managing Director of TAL
  • Lochiel Crafter − Head of Asia Pacific, State Street Global Advisors
  • Andrew Hagger – Group Executive, NAB Wealth and CEO MLC Limited
  • Brett Jollie – MD, Aberdeen Asset Management Australia Limited
  • Damien Mu −CEO of AIA Australia Limited
  • Greg Cooper – CEO of Schroder Investment Management Australia

You must be logged in to post or view comments.